Mouth Divisions

null A person's mouth can be divided into smaller sections. It can be divided into top and bottom, as well as into right and left sides. Let's look at these divisions a little more.

The mouth can be divided into a top and a bottom jaw and we call these arches. The top arch is called the maxilla or maxillary arch and the bottom arch is called the mandible or mandibular arch.

Each arch can be further divided into a right and left side. By doing this, we end up with something that's called a quadrant. Since each arch has 2 quadrants, there are 4 quadrants in a mouth.


Helpful Hint


Here is a quick question to make sure everything is going okay: Toggle open/close quiz question

Value: 1
So, how many quadrants will a patient have?


Click to close